The framers of the Constitution envisioned peaceful transitions of power, the need for states to offer amendments to the Constitution, and as the republic grew in population they anticipated new states would be formed. The electoral college and the election process ensures a peaceful transition of power from the current representatives to new representatives. Article V of the Constitution elucidates the amendment process.

Article 4, Section 3 stipulates new states may be erected from existing states. In fact, this has happened several times since the Constitution was ratified. The Section reads, “New States may be admitted by the Congress into this Union; but no new States shall be formed or erected within the Jurisdiction of any other State; nor any State be formed by the Junction of two or more States, or parts of States, without the Consent of the Legislatures of the States concerned as well as of the Congress.”

In all our political societies the people are the sovereigns; the people are the source of all legitimate political power delegated to their respective governments. In fact, this self-evident truth is elucidated in the Maryland Declaration of Rights:

Article 1. That all Government of right originates from the People, is founded in compact only, and instituted solely for the good of the whole; and they have, at all times, the inalienable right to alter, reform or abolish their Form of Government in such manner as they may deem expedient.

Art. 6. That all persons invested with the Legislative or Executive powers of Government are the Trustees of the Public, and, as such, accountable for their conduct: Wherefore, whenever the ends of Government are perverted, and public liberty manifestly endangered, and all other means of redress are ineffectual, the People may, and of right ought, to reform the old, or establish a new Government; the doctrine of non-resistance against arbitrary power and oppression is absurd, slavish and destructive of the good and happiness of mankind.

Therefore, We, the People of Garrett, Allegany, Washington, Frederick, and Carroll counties have irreconcilable differences with the State of Maryland and seek an amicable divorce. We the People duly exercise our rights of self-determination and self-governance to create a new political society — a new state — comprised of the aforementioned five counties in accordance with the provisions stipulated in the U.S. Constitution.